The most on-topic off topic everJohn Cody Forbes cody at 5000tq.comMon Mar 16 19:32:39 PDT 2009
http://jcforbes.com/jcfpics/1970_911S/CIMG4129?full=1 - A Kardex ordered just recently. No sign of facility idication. Plus proper Porsche's put that on a small plaque riveted to the door post just above the lower hinge, the 944 doesn't follow suit. It has been done once before that I know of: http://www.924board.org/viewtopic.php?t=25742 - Only info I can find right now, but it has been discussed here before. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNYqz0k_MEo -Cody Forbes Andrew Dickinson wrote: > If you get a Porsche 'Certificate of Authenticity' it should tell you > the chassis manufacturer location iirc. It has been a while but one of > my 1967 911S cars was a Karman facility car and the other was... I > can't recall of the top of my head. Anyway, the point being that if > it is an Ingolstadt manufacturer you may get the puzzle piece you > need. > > Funny that you mention doing that as there was a 944 around the corner > that I pondered placing the I5 turbo into... please keep us advised on > your progress. > > -----Original Message----- > From: quattro-bounces at audifans.com > [mailto:quattro-bounces at audifans.com] On Behalf Of John Cody Forbes > Sent: March 16, 2009 8:56 PM > To: quattro at audifans.com > Subject: The most on-topic off topic ever > > I'm on a quest for as much hard documentation as I can find that > proves beyond a doubt that the Porsche 944 was manufactured by Audi > at the Neckarsulm facility. > > I'm wanting to be true to the word about a rule for a racing series > that states "All ... cars must use an engine originally built by the > manufacturer of the car's chassis...". Obviously by working to the > letter of that rule I may install an Audi 5 cylinder in my 944 and be > legal, but for ovious reasons this is going to be met with resistance. > The "VW - OOOO" (where the OOOO is four rings) stamped into the steel > of the chassis should be proof enough, but I want to be properly > armed. > > -Cody Forbes > http://www.5000tq.com > _______________________________________________ > quattro mailing list > quattro at audifans.com > http://www.audifans.com/mailman/listinfo/quattro > --- > Watch this space for ads :) > No virus found in this incoming message. > Checked by AVG - www.avg.com > Version: 8.0.237 / Virus Database: 270.11.15/2003 - Release Date: > 03/16/09 07:04:00
More information about the quattro mailing list |